SCHED* SXSW 2011 has ended
avatar for Amber Asylum

Amber Asylum

Amber Asylum is a highly-variable San Francisco-based music group that serves as a platform for composer, singer, and multi-instrumentalist Kris Force. The music is generally within the avant garde metal, neoclassical and dark ambient genres, and it tends towards the romantic, introspective, and brooding. Classical strings and female voices are the dominant instruments. Players for The Nanotear showcase at SXSW 2011 include; Leila Abdul Rauf - guitar, keys, trumpet, Sarah Rosalena Brady - Viola, RD Davies - Percussion, Kris T Force - violin, voice, Sigrid Sheie - Bass, flute, keys. When not playing with AmberAsylum Leila Abdul Rauf is a guitarist in Hammers of Misfortune, Vastum and formerly of Saros, RD Davies joins Leila in Vastum and Sigrid Sheie is the premiere organist for Hammers of Misfortune. Kris Force has contributed string arrangements, voice work to Swans, Jarboe, Neurosis among others. Discography: * Frozen in Amber (1996, Elfenblut/Misanthropy) (reissued 2003, Neurot Recordings)[5] * The Natural Philosophy of Love (1997, Relapse Records) * Songs of Sex and Death (1998, Relapse Records) * The Supernatural Parlour Collection (2000, Relapse Records) * GardenOfLoveAutonomySuiteStillPoint 10" vinyl EP, (2005, Self Released) * Garden of Love EP, (2006, Paradigms Recordings) * Still Point (2007, Profound Lore Records) * Bitter River (2009, Profound Lore Records)

My Artists Sessions

Thursday, March 17